pasterprograms.blogg.se

Tamia so into you on big immortal
Tamia so into you on big immortal







tamia so into you on big immortal

Its like the people playing my stuff back when “You Put a Move On My Heart” came out and the first album, now their kids are listening to it too. I just saw Kehlani perform it and she’s only 23. I’ve loved seeing other artists perform it over the years. I just performed for “Black Girls Rock” and they requested I do a little bit of it before the new single. How has it been seeing the song’s endurance? The 20 th anniversary of your breakout single, “So Into You,” was this year. Independence, that’s the key - and learning as much as you can about the business. This is the fourth album I’m putting out on my own label.

tamia so into you on big immortal

The most important thing has been independence. I’m really proud of the fact that I stand behind the music that I’ve put out over the years, and I co-wrote on this album probably more than any other. I have to be able to connect with it, and it starts with being a part of the writing process. I have to be out here selling this music, it has to come from me. It started with getting involved in the writing process. What would you say has been your key to longevity? Actually, for me the frustrating part is having an entire project that you love and some songs - because they weren’t singles - never get to see the light of day. There was no taste test like, “Here, take a listen.” But we consume music completely different now. Before, you would never do that, you would never release things unless they were for sure singles. We put out “Leave It Smokin’ ” as the single, then we did a soft release of “Deeper” and put out “Today I Do” for my wedding anniversary. The way we released a few songs this go-round was new.

tamia so into you on big immortal

It’s funny, we were getting the booklet together for the album and I wondered, “When’s the last time someone looked in a booklet or held a CD?” Those things can be found online now, which shows you how differently we’re consuming music now. How much has changed in terms of how you navigate the industry? But “Stranger” was this big record, so I decided to only put it on the “A Nu Day” album and I saved “Me” because I felt like it was too much of a good thing. If they don’t make a cohesive album, I hold on to them.įor example, I recorded “Stranger in My House” and “Me” at the same time. The toughest is going over the songs you love and seeing what speaks to you in the moment. If I don’t like the song or if I don’t believe in it, I don’t record it. Some I fall in love with more than others, but I don’t go into the studio and just record songs all over the place. Well, I never record any song that I don’t love or like. It’s never about working with a certain producer or chasing a certain sound. For me, it’s always about the melody and the song. When I feel like it’s time to get back to recording, I unplug from everything, and that’s when I start thinking about what I want to write about and what I may want to sing about. Live in October), the performer discussed longevity, the evolving state of R&B and the 20 th anniversary of her debut.Īll of your albums have a warm familiarity without ever feeling formulaic. 1 on the Billboard R&B chart), “Passion Like Fire” is more of the sultry, grown-up R&B-soul Hill has delivered effortlessly for two decades now.Īhead of the album’s release and supporting tour that will take her across the U.S. The follow-up to 2015’s “Love Life” (her highest charting album to date, it hit No.

tamia so into you on big immortal

Singing since she was 6, the Windsor, Ontario, native arrived under the guidance of Quincy Jones and had earned three Grammy nominations before she released her self-titled debut in 1998.ĭespite a current R&B landscape that favors experimentation and hip-hop edge, Hill has remained one of the few steadfast talents who rebukes trend-chasing, and her new album sees the singer playing directly to her strengths.

Tamia so into you on big immortal plus#

7 via her Plus 1 imprint and eOne Music - and she’s got one of the hottest songs on the adult R&B charts right now with “Leave It Smokin,’ ” a seductive neo-soul throwback that’s becoming her most successful single since her breakout 2001 stunner, “Stranger in My House.” She’s gearing up for a fall tour in support of her new album, “Passion Like Fire” - it’s out Sept.









Tamia so into you on big immortal